The Carthago HC Trade is here!!  Fans of Jaws & Cryptozoology rejoice! Shark Week was only a warm up! Carthago from Humanoids has arrived. I have been waiting a very long time for this gorgeous book to be released in the United States and I could not be more excited to get my hands on it this week. I got a brief look at the one display copy that was available at the Humanoids booth during San Diego Comic Con last July and was immediately hooked.

For those of you not familiar with Humanoids, I think this book will be a great introduction to all of the fantastic graphic novels that this publisher has to offer. We are gradually adding more Humanoids books to our inventory and if we don’t have what you are looking for we will be happy to order it for you.

My Review

I started reading this tome on Tuesday night after closing the store and finished it the following evening. After finishing this epic, I realized that I was feeling the same way that I had felt after viewing the Fellowship Of The Ring for the very first time. There is no doubt in my mind that Carthago is the greatest graphic novel that I have ever read, and I have read a lot of graphic novels.

Christophe Bec has immediately become one of my all time favorite writers. Before reading Cathargo I had only read one other story by Christophe Bec called Pandemonium which was a most excellent horror story. I am definitely going to read all of his other books as soon as possible.

Take equal parts of Jurassic Park, Jaws, The Abyss, the Bermuda Triangle, The Lost City Of Atlantis, The Hunt For Red October, Howard Hughes and Jacques Cousteau and throw them in a blender. Now add a pinch of Greenpeace and a dab of Shell Oil, blend well and you have Carthago!

Carthago is an example of a story that could only be told in the form of a graphic novel. It would be impossible to turn it into a movie because a studio simply could not afford it. It would not work in prose because the artwork is every bit as important to the story as the writing.

And the artwork, OMFG! Eric Henninot (covers and artwork on pages 5 to 117) and Milan Jovanovic (Artwork on pages 119 to 228) are true masters of their craft. Their combined artwork was so gorgeous that I never even noticed where Henninot’s artwork ended and Jovanovic’s artwork started which did not distract from the overall enjoyment of the read which is usually the case when there are multiple artists on one book.

Add to that the impeccable colors, lettering, design and translation by the other creators that were assembled and you have a truly legendary creation to enjoy.

If you are a fan of the comics medium and you never read Carthago, it will be one of the great tragedies of your life. Trust me on this…..

Carthago HC Trade

Story by Christophe Bec, with Art by Eric HenninotMilan Jovanovic

In the insatiable quest for natural resources, humans are searching further and deeper into the earth, threatening to unleash monsters thought to be long gone…

The megalodon, the prehistoric ancestor of the great white shark was the most ferocious predator of the seas, an 80 foot killing machine extinct for millions of years… But when divers drilling in an underwater cave are attacked by this living fossil, oceanographer Kim Melville discovers that this creature may not only have survived, but thrived, and is reclaiming its place at the top of the food chain.

Check out the individual covers and other artwork from the five original comics that are collected in the hardcover. They are stunning!

Carthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC TradeCarthago HC Trade